Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Get Rich or Die Tryin'

 
Get Rich or Die Tryin'

… and that he did!

After this picture had been revealed on the MTV After Show with Dan and Jessi I simply had to grab my laptop and reconnect with my keys. Many have strong opinions on 50 cent’s new appearance but I can’t even hate because he is doing what he set out to do, which is  to “Get Rich or Die Tryin”. This dude is a smart business man; Yep, a business man … and I honestly don’t even consider him to be anything more than that … nope, not even a rapper. By no means am I trying to knock his rapping skills at all (although I’m not a big fan of his work), instead I’m simply trying to imply that I don’t believe that he is trying to excel in just one industry because that’s not what entrepreneurs do, and that my friends is what I consider him to be; an entrepreneur.

See first he went into rapping, then he released his G-Unit clothing line, signed a deal with Reebok to start his shoes line, he is on a few video games (voice), he started G-Unit books, he endorsed vitamin water, and now he is playing the role of a cancer patient … I’m just saying don’t be surprised if he plays his role well and comes out looking like Denzel Washington or Will Smith … okay so maybe we shouldn’t dream that high, but hey I’m pretty sure he’s going to do just fine.

What is your take on all of this? Do you think he “sold out”, as I hear many artists around me say, or do you agree that he is simply just a smart business man?

Heck who am I kidding ... no one is going to reply to this because no one cares about 50 cent. Shoot, I know I don't ... weird right.

-Charlie Rain